Business Sydney

Boardroom Lunch | with THE HON. WENDY TUCKERMAN MP

NSW Minister for Local Government and Member for Goulburn

Monday, 04 July 2022

12:00 pm - 2:15 pm



Business Sydney



Sydney First Members & Guests

Exclusive corporate boardroom lunch with the Hon. Wendy Tuckerman MP, Minister for Local Government and Member for Goulburn.

The theme for the lunch included the increased role of Local Government in our professional and personal lives and how councils will pay for it, along with how to build better collaboration and communication between State and Local Government and how to solve questions around changes to developer contributions.

The Minister also sat down to a Q&A with the NSW Productivity Commissioner, Peter Achterstraat AM, discussing the impacts of the Minister's portfolio and initiatives to increase productivity.

Event Partner


EVENT PHOTO COLLAGES (2160 × 1080 px)

Special GuestS


NSW Minister for Local Government

The Hon. Wendy Tuckerman MP is the Minister for Local Government and Member for Goulburn.

Mrs Tuckerman has extensive experience in local government after serving 17 years as a Councillor, Mayor and Administrator.

The Minister knows that local councils are crucial to the NSW economy and building strong, connected and resilient communities.

Mrs Tuckerman’s key priority is to guide and support the sector that invests more than $12 billion each year in infrastructure, facilities and services, manages $178 billion in assets, and employs more than 48,000 people across the State.

Elected as a Councillor in 2004 to Boorowa Council, Mrs Tuckerman then become the first female Mayor of Boorowa in 2007. In 2015 she was elected Chair of the Canberra Region Joint Organisation until 2016 when Mrs Tuckerman was subsequently appointed Administrator of the new Hilltops Council. She was again elected as a Councillor in 2017.

Mrs Tuckerman was elected to the Parliament of NSW on 23 March 2019 as the Member for Goulburn.

On 21 December 2021, Mrs Tuckerman was sworn in as Minister for Local Government.

The Minister has a number of responsibilities including Coastal Management, Public Reserves, Graffiti Control, Companion Animals and guiding and assisting the State’s 128 local councils, 13 joint organisations and nine county councils.

Peter Achterstraat AM

NSW Productivity Commissioner

Peter Achterstraat AM has been NSW Productivity Commissioner since 2018. Mr Achterstraat was the NSW Auditor-General from 2006 to 2013 and served in other roles, including as the Chief Commissioner of State Revenue and Deputy Commissioner of Taxation at the Australian Tax Office.

He was the president of the Australian Institute of Company Directors (NSW Division) from 2014 to 2020 and is currently the Chair of the Sydney Financial Forum. He has also served as an adjunct professor at the University of Sydney’s Graduate School of Government and held the positions of infrastructure adviser for Advisian and the Administrator of the National Health Funding Pool.

Peter holds an Honours degree in economics as well as degrees in law and commerce from the Australian National University. He was awarded the Australian Finance Conference prize for Company Finance, and the PricewaterhouseCoopers prize for Accounting. In 2006, he was inducted into the Australian National University College of Business and Economics' Hall of Fame.

Peter is a Barrister of the Supreme Court of NSW and is a Fellow of the Institute of Chartered Accountants in Australia, CPA Australia, Fellow of Chartered Secretaries Australia, and the Institute of Public Administration Australia.



Become a Business Sydney member

Our events and forums are for Business Sydney members and invited guests only. Click the button below to find out about becoming a Business Sydney member.